Collection Locators
Use these databases to identify repositories and collections beyond campus.
- WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowLocate books and other materials cataloged by libraries worldwide; request delivery of non-University of Chicago items using BorrowDirect, UBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. A union catalog containing the holding of thousands of libraries worldwide. Use to determine other libraries that own a resource and for initiating a loan request (click the "Find It" button.
- Center for Research LibrariesA repository for specialized research materials, including foreign and domestic newspapers; foreign and US state government documents; archival materials in microform; large microform research collections. Request items through Interlibrary Loan.
- British LibraryIncludes integrated catalog and subsets for newspapers, incunabula, archival materials, etc.
- National Archives (UK)UK government's official archive, from "Domesday Book to websites."
- Library Hub This link opens in a new windowCombined catalog of UK and Irish academic and National libraries.
Searching for Primary Sources
The following terms are found in the subject headings of records for primary sources.
- sources
- diaries
- correspondence
- personal narratives
- pamphlets
- maps
- speeches
- early works to 1800
- voyages and travels
In the library catalog:
Use the BEGINS WITH option, select SUBJECT from the drop-down menu.
- England--History--Sources
- Great Britain--History--Civil War, 1642-1649--Personal Narratives
- London (England)--Maps
- Great Britain -- History -- Stuarts, 1603-1714 -- Sources
Use the ADVANCED KEYWORD option in the catalog:
- SUBJECT Cromwell AND KEYWORD speeches
- SUBJECT archives sources AND SUBJECT england
Subject Guide
Nancy Spiegel
she/her
Contact:
Bibliographer for Art and Cinema
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463
773-702-5193