Library Guides: PLSC 23414: Political Economy of Global Food : Legal/Regulatory Information

Department of Agriculture

USDA both produces research reports and promulgates regulations to carry out laws passed by Congress. The Federal Register includes all the proposed and finalized regulations of the department.

USDA Research and Regulations

Federal Regulations

The Federal Register is published daily and consists of proposed and enacted Federal regulations. The Code of Federal Regulations is the yearly compilation of promulgated rules and is organized into 50 broad areas, known as Titles.

Federal Register This link opens in a new window
Proposed and implemented Federal regulations. This site is very easy to browse by day, month, and year.
Federal Register (with public comments) This link opens in a new window
Each regulation has a 90 day public comment period. This site allows you to search the comments and view the full text of them.
Code of Federal Regulations This link opens in a new window
Annual codification of the permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Arranged into 50 general topics.

Congress

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for Congressional reports, documents, hearings, prints and other Congressional papers from 1789. Full text availability varies. Full text of hearings available from 1817. Provides full texts of Congressional committee reports since 1990; of House and Senate Documents since 1995; of selected committee prints since 1995; of bills since 1989; and of the Congressional Record since 1985.
Provides full text of committee hearings since 1817, Congressional committee reports since 1990, House and Senate Documents since 1995, selected committee prints since 1995, bills since 1789, and the Congressional Record since 1985.
Government Accountability Office This link opens in a new window
"Congressional watchdog." Audits govt agencies; tries to ensure federal funds are spent responsibly and as Congress intended. Archives go back several decades.
The GAO audits govt agencies as needed and generally tries to ensure that federal funds are spent responsibly and the for the purpose Congress intended. Their site has archived their reports back several decades; an Advanced Search is available once you have run a simple search.