Skip to main content

HIST 14203: Doing History: Theory and Practice

A guide to library research for students in Professor Burn's class (Spring 2015)

About the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center's archival collections are divided by two major classifications: University Archives and Modern Manuscripts:

University Archives

The University Archives documents the history of the University of Chicago, the work of its faculty, and the life of the academic community. The University Archives acquires and preserves materials in all formats, including electronic and digital. University Archives collections include records of the University administration and academic units; papers of faculty members, trustees, administrators, students, and alumni; publications; photographs; video and film; sound recordings; and memorabilia. The current extent of the University Archives collections is 35,858 linear feet.

Modern Manuscripts 

Spanning the period from the eighteenth century to the present, the modern manuscript collections are developed to support research and teaching at the University of Chicago. The current extent of the manuscript collections is 10,277 linear fee


How to Request Materials from Archival Collections

Contact us

For help with your research:

Visit us on the first floor of Regenstein Library:

1100 East 57th Street, Chicago, IL 60637.

Phone: 773-702-8705

Hours and Location

Monday through Friday: 9:00 am to 4:45pm. 

Saturdays: 9:00am to 12:45pm (when classes at the University of Chicago are in session.)

The Special Collections Research Center is located on the first floor of Regenstein Library: 1100 East 57th Street, Chicago, IL 60637