MAPH Research Guides

Oxford Bibliographies in American Literature provides scholarly examination of American literature including postmodern theory to debates about the canon, slave narratives, and comic books. The study of literature invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, politics, and womens studies making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed about related areas of study. Researchers and practitioners can access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources and tools to help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material that is reliable and directly relevant to their inquiries.

Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship.
From their website

As a key part of Western literary and cultural history, British and Irish literature encompasses a massive range of periods, authors, and works that make it one of the most active fields in academia today. As such, this area of study invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, political science, and philosophy making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed about every applicable area. In addition, a great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can easily access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources that might also be useful to them. In this situation what is most needed is expert guidance. Researchers and practitioners at all levels need tools that help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material that is reliable and directly relevant to their inquiries. Oxford Bibliographies in British and Irish Literature will offer a trustworthy pathway through the thicket of information overload.

Regularly updated annotated bibliography addressing themes and topics in Cinema and Media Studies

Regularly updated annotated bibliography addressing themes and topics in Classics.

Regularly updated annotated bibliography addressing themes and topics in Linguistics

Access Mango Languages online or through free mobile apps for iPhone and Android.
Similar to Rosetta Stone, Mango is an online language-learning system that teaches conversation skills in more than 50 languages including Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian and English.