Skip to main content

History

A guide to library resources in North American and European history

News in English translation

Current Online News (1990s-present)

Newspapers and Indexes, 17th-century to 1990s

See  ICON Newspaper Digitization Projects for links to collections of international newspapers that have been digitized.

The Center for Research Libraries, a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries, has an extremely strong international newspaper collection (in print and microfilm) and liberal borrowing policies. Use the Newspaper search to locate holdings and request them through BorrowDirect, UBorrow or Interlibrary Loan.



Dutch
Dutch newspapers 1618-1995 from the Koninklijke Bibliotheek, including papers from the Dutch East Indies


French

France-actualité, 1978-1981. Indexes Le Figaro, L'Humanité and Le Monde

Gallica From the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Select the "periodicals" tab. Gallica includes a growing collection of 19th- and early 20th century newspapers, such as Le Figaro (1830-1942), La Croix (1883-1944) and Le Journal des débats (1814-1912).

Le Monde, 1987-present; in PDF from 2003. In Eureka

Le Monde Diplomatique, 1969-2013 in print; 1980-present in Eureka.


German

ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online provides digitized newspapers, late 19th and early 20th century.

Compact Memory: Retrospektive Digitalisierung jüdischer Periodika im deutschsprachigen Raum Digitized German-language Jewish newspapers, 1806-1938.

DiFMOE  A collection of 19th- and 20th-century newspapers, journals, almanacs, monographs, photos, maps and postcards from Central and Eastern Europe.

***NOTE Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (FAZ) no longer sells its content to US libraries. Abstracts may be found in Factiva.


Spanish


El Pais, Madrid. 1996-present. In Lexis-Nexis

Hemeroteca Digital archive is a project of the National Library of Spain. It consists of 143 titles representing a wide variety of Spanish newspapers, ranging from 1772 to 1933.

See also our guide Latin American news sources.

 

British Empire

British Newspapers, 1600-1900 includes 17th- and 18th- century newspapers that were collected by Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817) and augmented by the British Museum in 1818, as well as national and regional papers from the later 19th century.

British newspapers online, 1901-1950: Lists of regional and national papers, with links to full-text when available.

Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2009; and current recent issues in Factiva.

London Gazette (1665-present ), Edinburgh Gazette (1699-present ) and Belfast Gazette (1921-present) are official journals of record of the British government and are available online from their inceptions.

Guardian (1821-2003) and Observer (1791-2003)

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006

Times Of London digital archive (1785-1985)

Subject Specialist

Nancy Spiegel's picture
Nancy Spiegel
Contact:
Bibliographer for Art and Cinema
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463
773-702-5193