This page has been created for the students in Professor Faith Hillis' autumn 2012 course: Imperial Europe (HIST 29635). Students will find resources directly related to their course topic on this page.
Samuel N. Harper Collection of Russian Pamphlets (PDF): Samuel Northrup Harper (1882-1943), son of the University’s first president, William Rainey Harper, was a Professor of Russian Language and Institutions at the University of Chicago and the first American-born scholar to devote an academic career to the study of Russia. As such, he played an important role in interpreting the events of the Russian Revolution and early Soviet period to those involved in forming American foreign policy towards Russia. In 1904, he made the first of his 18 trips to Russia, in the course of which he amassed an invaluable collection of pamphlets, which are housed in Special Collections. To search for items in this collection, use the catalog and search for the call number: DK246.S2. Uou can requset items directly from the catalog.
The Samuel Northrup Harper Papers 1891-1943: Samuel Northrup Harper (1882 -1943), professor of Russian Language and Institutions at the University of Chicago, was the first American to devote an academic career to the study of Russia. As the foremost American expert during the Revolution of 1919 and the early years of the Soviet regime played a unique role in interpreting events in Russia to those who made, or influenced, American policy.
The Frederick Starr Papers 1868-1935: Frederick Starr (1858-1933) Assistant professor of anthropology, University of Chicago, 1892-95; associate professor, 1895-1923. Curator of the anthropological section, Walker Museum, University of Chicago, 1895-1923 Contains professional and personal correspondence; research material; field notebooks; diaries; class lecture notes; memorabilia; photographs; bibliographies; and scrapbooks. Correspondents include Frank Boas, W.E.B. Du Bois, Federico Gamboa, William Rainey Harper, John Haynes Holmes, Jenkin Lloyd Jones, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Julius Rosenwald, and Albion Small. Topics relate to Starr's interests and involvement in the former Belgian Congo, Liberia, Japan, Korea, the Philippines, Mexico, Central America, and the World's Columbian Exposition.
The Bernard Cohn Papers 1942-2000: Bernard Cohn (1928-2003), Anthropologist, spent the bulk of his professional life at the University of Chicago. Cohn first came to the University of Chicago as a postdoctoral fellow in 1957 and returned in 1964 to join the faculty. In the intervening years, Cohn conducted research in India and served as chairman of anthropology at the University of Rochester. An expert on British colonialism in India, Cohn was among the first anthropologists to integrate historical study into his ethnographic research. The Bernard Cohn Papers consist mainly of materials related to his writings, both published and unpublished. These materials include: drafts and typescripts, research notes, and a small collection of related correspondence.
The Der Monat Records 1948-1971: The records of Der Monat comprise correspondence files, reports, and papers of the American editor Melvin J. Lasky. Der Monat, a German-language political and cultural journal, first appeared in Germany in October, 1948. The purpose of the publication was to serve as a weapon against communism and fascism and to be a voice for western ideals. After six years of U.S. government sponsorship, Der Monat became a private journal, independently published by the Gesellschaft für Internationale Publizistik. The last issue appeared in 1971 after a long association with the International Association for Cultural Freedom.
The Lloyd A. Fallers Papers 1937-1977: The Fallers, Lloyd A. Papers comprise 28 linear feet of materials including personal and professional correspondence, field notes and research materials, course materials, and manuscripts concerning other professional associations and projects in which he was engaged. The papers contain materials generated by Fallers while pursuing research into colonialism and independence in East Africa, modernization in Turkey, and more general topics of social stratification and status.
The Political Pamphlets. Collection 1871-1966: These pamphlets have been assembled from a number of different collections. Countries included: AUSTRALIA, FRANCE, GERMANY/AUSTRIA, GREAT BRITAIN/IRELAND, ITALY, LEAGUE OF NATIONS/UNITED NATIONS, PALESTINE/JUDAICA, PAN-EUROPEAN ISSUES, RUSSIA/SOVIET UNION, SPAIN, UNITED STATES
America: History & Life: America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
America Founding Era Collection: Rotunda’s American Founding Era Collection is your gateway into one of the great conversations in history. These newly prepared digital editions of the papers of many of the major figures of the early republic are presented in a fully searchable and interoperable online environment. Includes: Adams Papers Digital Edition, Papers of Thomas Jefferson Digital Edition, Dolley Madison Digital Edition, Papers of James Madison Digital Edition, Papers of George Washington Digital Edition, Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution.
British History Online: Contains: Primary sources: Full-text editions of primary sources, such as the journals of the houses of Parliament or manorial records such as feet of fines; Secondary texts: Modern synthetic historical writing, including the Victoria County History and the Survey of London; Guides and calendars: Printed guides and calendars of manuscript collections, such as the Calendars of State Papers; Gazetteers and dictionaries: Dictionaries and gazetteers of places, property, goods and commodities; and Maps: Maps from the Ordnance Survey and historic maps from before 1800.
British Newspapers 1600-1900: The most comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive. Includes 17-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers. Includes 19th Century British Library Newspapers 3 million pages of historic newspapers, newsbooks & ephemera, National & Regional papers from British Isles
Eighteenth Century Collection Online: Comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, a microfilm collection of 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800. Includes books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons to printed ephemera by well-known and lesser-known eighteenth-century authors.
Historical Newspapers: Contains 4 major historical resources for events of the last 200 years: Palmer’s Index to the Times, The Official Index to the Times, The Historical Index to the New York Times, and Palmer’s Full Text Online, 1785-1870.
International Medieval Bibliography: Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books.
Révolution et l'Empire:Brings together the works of fifty-two of the best known and most influential historians of the Revolution and Empire from the nineteenth century, including Constant, Jaurès, Michelet, and Taine.
WorldCat (OCLC):OCLC WorldCat database is the OCLC online catalog. It contains over 43 million records describing library holdings.