Skip to main content

ENGL 44500: Brechtian Representations (CompLit 40800/CMS 36200)

Loren Kruger, Spring 2018

Finding Performance Reviews

This page contains resources that only cover performance reviews. The more general resources on the "How to find Reviews" guide will also contain performance reviews.

Please note that the MLA Bibliography does NOT contain any reviews whatsoever.

Reviews-Only

(arranged by dates covered, most recent first)

Guide toFinding Reviews

Reception

How a play or film is received can be studied by researching the critical reception of the playwright, auteur, play or film in addition to performance reviews. You can look for scholarly articles published shortly after the play was produced or film was screened, or at different stages during the life of the playwright or auteur. Use the same indexes that you use for finding criticism, but limit your search to specific dates. Alternatively, use bibliographies about a playwright or auteur to hone in on relevant articles.

For example :

Eugene Ionesco : a Bibliography
Bibliographie et index thématique des études sur Eugène Ionesco

or

Harold Pinter : an Annotated Bibliography
Harold Pinter : a Study of his Reputation (1958-1969) and a Checklist


Key terms to use in searching indexes are "reception," "reputation," or "appreciation."

Bibliographies

Subject Specialist

Sarah G. Wenzel's picture
Sarah G. Wenzel
Contact:
sgwenzel@uchicago.edu

Bibliographer
Literatures of Europe & the Americas

Regenstein Library
Room 363
773.702.8448