Provides indexing to Congressional publications. Full text availability varies by type of publication.
Provides full text of committee hearings since 1817, Congressional committee reports since 1990, House and Senate Documents since 1995, selected committee prints since 1995, bills since 1789, and the Congressional Record since 1985.
"Congressional watchdog." Oversees agency spending and behavior.
The GAO audits govt agencies as needed and generally tries to ensure that federal funds are spent responsibly and the for the purpose Congress intended. Their site has archived their reports back several decades; an Advanced Search is available once you have run a simple search.
North American City Reports preserves the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the five hundred largest cities in North America. It also includes select materials from hundreds of related agencies and non-governmental organizations
North American City Reports preserves the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the five hundred largest cities in North America. It also includes select materials from hundreds of related agencies and non-governmental organizations.
In 1993, Congress passed the U.S. Government Printing Office Electronic Information Access Enhancement Act (Public Law 103-40), which expanded GPO's mission to provide electronic access to Federal electronic information. For more than 15 years, GPO Access has been America's source for Government information online, but now GPO is unveiling the next generation of Government information online with GPO's govinfo.
Central source for official US docs.
Featured Collections
* Code of Federal Regulations
* Compilation of Presidential Documents
* Congressional Bills
* Congressional Documents
* Congressional Hearings
* Congressional Record
* Congressional Reports
* Economic Indicators
* Federal Register
* Public and Private Laws
* United States Code
and much more
This library includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents (Hoover-Present), CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Weekly Compilation of the Presidential Documents, Economic Report of the President, and other documents relating to U.S. presidents.
Documents such as Proclamations, Executive Orders, and similar documents that are published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations, are usually not included for the presidencies of Herbert Hoover through Gerald Ford (1929-1977), but are included beginning with the administration of Jimmy Carter (1977).
Federal Regulations
The Federal Register is published daily and consists of proposed and passed regulations that Federal agencies use to carry out policies based on laws passed by Congress. The Code of Federal Regulations is the yearly compilation of promulgated rules and is organized into 50 titles, including Commerce and Foreign Trade, Energy, Foreign Relations, and National Defense.
Annual codification of the permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Arranged into 50 general topics.