Skip to main content

ENGL 52420: 1948

Taught Winter 2013 by Professor Deborah Nelson

Selected Collections

The Atomic Moment

Atomic Scientists of Chicago Records The Atomic Scientists of Chicago (ASC) was founded in September 1945 at the Metallurgical Laboratory of the University of Chicago to address the moral and social responsibilities of scientists regarding the use of nuclear energy and to promote public awareness of its possible consequences.

James Franck Papers In addition to containing Franck's scientific writings, the collection contained material regarding his role in helping scientists expelled from Nazi Germany, the atomic scientists' movement regarding the development and control of atomic energy, and the Franck Memorial Symposium. Also contains the "Franck Report" of June 1945, in which Franck and other Chicago scientists urged that the atomic bomb be demonstrated to the Japanese before deployment.

Eugene Rabinowitz Papers Rabinowitz was a co-founder of Bulletin of Atomic Scientists, which he also edited.

Association of Scientists for Atomic Education 1945-48  This group's purpose was education rather than direct political agitation, and in this respect, its intention was to supplement the work of such sister organizations as the Federation of American Scientists and the National Committee for Atomic Information whose chief concern was to influence government policy.

 

The Boys Come Home

University of Chicago, Office of the President Papers, Hutchins Administration Contains many boxes with materials pertaining to the University of Chicago and WWII and the immediate post-war period, including post-war planning, military institutes 1942-50s, student housing 1936-50, faculty housing 1948-51, Housing Bureau 1944-49.

American Veterans Committee, Chicago Area Council Records, 1946-73  The collection contains documents from the American Veterans Council, founded in 1944 and disbanded in 2003. The American Veterans Council was a liberal Veterans’ organization that sought to protect and extend Democracy. The collection spans from 1946-1973, with the bulk of the collection from 1946-1958.

 

Human Rights vs. Natural Right

Leo Strauss Papers Includes correspondence, manuscripts, research notes, notebooks, publications and audio recordings. The papers document Strauss' career as a writer and professor of political philosophy at the Academy of Jewish Research, Berlin (1925-1932), the New School for Social Research (1941-1948), the University of Chicago (1949-1968) and other institutions in the United States and Europe.

 

Totalitarianism

Hannah Arendt -- We do not have her papers, but we do have a file in Archival Biographical Files.

Arendt's The Origins of Totalitarianism in our Rosenberger Collection, also The Burden of Our Time (1951).

Mike Keen Papers, contains copy of Arendt FBI file

 

Realism and the Global Crisis

Hans Morgenthau – We do not have his papers, but do have a file in Archival Biographical Files, plus correspondence may be found in other collections, such as the Social Science Research Committee, or Office of the Vice President.

 

Realism and the Aesthetic Crisis

T.S. Eliot ‘s “Notes Toward a Definition of Culture” in Modern Poetry Rare Book collection; Eliot manuscripts and correspondence with Harriet Monroe in Poetry: A Magazine of Verse Records.

 

Traumatic Modernism

Poetry Magazine  Contains Pound manuscripts and his correspondence with editor Harriet Monroe, as well as manuscripts from other modernist poets.

Chicago Review Records Student-run journal founded at the University of Chicago in 1946 which features poetry, fiction, short stories, plays, translations, essays, memoirs, commentaries, interviews, book reviews, criticism, photographs, and artwork, and documents the administrative aspect of the journal and contain correspondence, manuscripts, drafts and proofs, artwork, mailing lists, articles, invoices, orders and subscriptions, administrative material, and event ephemera.

 

Role of the Intellectual and Artist

International Association for Cultural Freedom (IACF, also known as Congress for Cultural Freedom, CFF) The collection consists of seven series. Of these, Series I-II contains correspondence and  Series III on Seminars, are likely to be of the most interest for this course. Note there is no online finding aid for this collection; please consult the print inventory in Special collections.

Richard McKeon Papers  Includes professional and personal correspondence, research materials, manuscripts of books and articles, course materials. Document McKeon's involvement with international concerns through materials relating to the Committee to Frame a World Constitution and several international meetings of UNESCO which McKeon attended as a U.S. delegate.

Committee to Frame a World Constitution Convened in the fall of 1945 as part of the post-World War II World Federalist movement. The Records contain correspondence and miscellaneous material reflecting the close relations between the Committee and other organizations advocating some form of world government. The papers are comprised of the files of the Committee secretariat, which was also the editorial staff for the journalCommon Cause.

John Balderston Papers Contains correspondence related to the Letters on World Government project, conducted by John L. Balderston, Jr., Dieter M. Gruen, W.J. McLean, and David B. Wehmeyer. The collection includes over one hundred letters from prominent intellectual, political, and entertainment figures of the 1940s concerning the creation of a world government and a report summarizing the responses they received.

Subject Guide

Sarah G. Wenzel's picture
Sarah G. Wenzel
Contact:
sgwenzel@uchicago.edu

Bibliographer
Literatures of Europe & the Americas

Regenstein Library
Room 363
773.702.8448

Hours and Location

Monday through Friday: 9:00 am to 4:45pm. 

When classes at the University of Chicago are in session, we are open until 5:45pm on Tuesday and Wednesday. We are not open Saturday or Sunday.

The Special Collections Research Center is located on the first floor of Regenstein Library: 1100 East 57th Street, Chicago, IL 60637

Map of Our Location