Skip to main content

HIST 845: American Capitalism: Political Economy, Culture, and Law

List of Items Viewed During SCRC Visit

Below is a list of the items viewed during the class visit to Special Collections. Links are provided to those archival and manuscript collections with online finding aids. Rare books have catalog records in the online catalog and can be requested using our Circulation Request system.

Archives and Manuscript Collections

Philip M. Klutnick Papers, Boxes 12-13

B. Heller & Co. Collection, Box 2

Ruben T. Durrett Collection: Miscellaneous Manuscripts

Ferdinand Kramer Papers, Box 5

Hyde Park-Kenwood Community Conference. Records: Sub-subseries 4: Housing, Box 132

Printed Books

Cheever, George Barrell, The fire and hammer of God's word against the sin of slavery/ speech of George B. Cheever at the anniversary of the American Abolition Society, May 1858.

Douglass, Frederick. Two speeches by Frederick Douglass; one on West India emancipation, delivered at Canandaigua, Aug. 4th, and the other on the Dred Scott decision, delivered in New York, on the occasion of the anniversary of the American Abolition Society, May 1857.

Free negroism, or, Results of emancipation in the North, and the West India Islands: with statistics of the decay of commerce--idleness of the negro--his return to savageism, and the effect of emancipation upon the farming, mechanical and laboring classes.

Tilton, E. Stevens, Mrs. Home dissertations: an offering to the household for economical and practical skill in cookery, orderly domestic management, and nicety in the appointments of home : excerpts from favorite authors (1891).

Subject Guide

Nancy Spiegel's picture
Nancy Spiegel
Bibliographer for Art and Cinema
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463