Skip to main content

GEOS 28300: Principles of Stratigraphy

Selected information resources that are of particular interest in the study of stratigraphy

Article Databases

While GoogleScholar can be a convenient tool for finding articles in geological sciences, it is not comprehensive.  The Library subscribes to many databases in specific areas of science, engineering and medicine.  The following are those which are most useful in finding articles on topics in geophysical sciences.  For a complete list of all databases provided by the Library, visit the Database Finder.

Finding Journal Titles

The Library has an extensive collections of journals in the geophysical sciences, both online and in print. The following links may be useful in tracking down specific journals.

EndNote and Zotero

EndNote and Zotero are research management tools that helps you collect, organize, and share citations from library databases and catalogs. The Library provides training resources and services to help you use these tools effectively and efficiently. 

Searching for Citation Information

The Library provides resources for locating a variety of measures of research impact, including counts of citations to a particular paper, measures of citations to specific authors, and impact factors for journal titles.  Tools are often integrated into articles databases.  

Contact Information

Andrea Twiss-Brooks
Director of Research and Teaching Support
Regenstein Library Room 181
773-702-8777
Send Email

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the Find It button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request.  It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.

Scan and Deliver

Scan & Deliver provides photocopies from books and journals in the general collections of the University of Chicago Library. The service is available exclusively to current University of Chicago faculty, students, and staff.

Full details, including directions on submitting requests, are on our Scan & Deliver Guide