Skip to main content

EndNote Web

Getting started with EndNote Web, an online citation manager available through the Library.

Importing using browser plugins

EndNote Web has two browser tools that can make importing records easier than other methods. These do not work with all databases, however, and some browsers work better than others.
Both tools can be found in EndNote Web under Options --> Download Installers

Web Capture Bookmarklet

Web capture is a bookmarklet that you add to your browser's Bookmark Toolbar. When searching article databases, you can view a record and then click the button on your toolbar to import to EndNote Web. This works with many popular databases like JSTOR and PubMed and many journal publisher sites. It also works with Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer.

Browser Addon

EndNote Web has addons for Internet Explorer and Firefox. This adds a button to your toolbar that works in the same way as the Bookmarklet.

The Internet Explorer addon will be installed automatically when you install the Cite While You Write tool for Word. The Firefox addon is installed manually like other Firefox addons.

Windows 7 users: the addon does not seem to work in the 64 bit version of IE.

Importing from PubMed

You can import records from PubMed using the Online Search feature or using an Import Filter.

Online Search

  1. In EndNote Online, select the "Collect" tab.
  2. Click the "Online Search" link below the tabs.
  3. In the drop-list, select "PubMed (NLM) and click "Connect".
  4. Enter your search terms and click "Search".

Using an Import Filter

  1. In PubMed, mark the records you want to import.
  2. From the "Send To" drop-down menu select "Citation manager".
  3. Click "Create File" and save the file (its default name is citations.nbib).
  4. In EndNote Online, select the "Collect" tab.
  5. Click "Import References" link below the tabs.
  6. Browse to your saved file.
  7. Select the "PubMed (NLM)" Import Option.
  8. Select the folder into which the references will be imported.
  9. Click import.

Importing from Web of Science

Web of Science and EndNote Web are both produced by Thomson Reuters, which makes saving records extremely easy. Signed-in users will see an EndNote Web icon next to any records that are already in their library.

  1. Search and mark/select the records you would like to import.
  2. Click Save to EndNote Web at the top of the results list.
  3. You will be prompted to log in, if you have not already done so.
  4. Results are exported to your Unfiled folder.

Importing using RIS

Most databases offer an export in a tagged format called RIS. This may also be called Bibliographic Software format, EndNote format or something similar.

  1. Search and mark/select the records you would like to import.
  2. Go to the marked/selected records section for the database.
  3. Select "Save" and save the file in the RIS (.ris) format.
  4. Go to EndNote Web.
  5. Go to Collect --> Import References
  6. Browse to where you saved the file.
  7. Select RefMan RIS as the import option. You can also choose a destination folder.
  8. Click Import.

Direct Export

Direct export to EndNote Web is not widely available. EBSCO is the only publisher that we are aware of that offers it at this time. The process is similar to using RIS export.

  1. Conduct a search
  2. Add items you wish to save to your folder
  3. Go to your folder
  4. Select the records to export and click Export
  5. Select " You will be prompted to log in, if you have not already done so.
  6. Records are imported into your Unfiled folder.

Records from EBSCO databases will include an EBSCOhost icon in the record and a direct link back to the database where you found the record.