Rare Books and Early Manuscripts at the University of Chicago Library
This guide contains resources, descriptions, and tutorials on how to use the rare book and early manuscript collections at the University of Chicago Library. There is also information and resources on book history, printing, and book collecting.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Subjects include literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, art, education, mathematics, and science. Titles from Pollard & Redgrave (1475-1640), Wing (1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) and Early English Books Tract Supplement.
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Subjects include literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, art, education, mathematics, and science. Titles from Pollard & Redgrave (1475-1640), Wing (1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) and Early English Books Tract Supplement.
An online collection of over 3,700 books of high quality in the humanities
Offers electronic texts selected from the current output of American university presses, as well as those from a specially selected backlist of titles. American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) project.
Early English Prose Fiction contains English prose works from the period 1500-1700, by writers from the British Isles. In general, first editions have been used, except when a later edition was deemed more appropriate. Exlcuded are non-fictional prose, translations (with the exception of Argenis from Barclay's Latin) and medieval 'survivals': works written before the period but printed within it. Each work in the database is keyed in full, including all prefatory matter and annotation by the original author. Bibliographic details of each of the editions used are included as are illustrations integral to the text and errata lists.
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly published in the British Isles and North America.Works are from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries.
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) is an invaluable research tool for scholars in English culture, language, and literature. From the beginnings of print to 1800, ESTC provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language ‒ as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. ESTC serves as a comprehensive bibliography of the hand-press era and as a census of surviving copies. All recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700 are now represented in the file. Produced by the ESTC editorial offices at the University of California, Riverside and the British Library, in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society and over 1,600 libraries worldwide, the file continues to be updated and expanded daily.
The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense book collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed by anyone for years.
HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.
Locate and Request Rare Books Using the Library Catalog
Rare Book Digital Highlights from the Library's Collection
UChicago Library’s print collection includes more than 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin. The online collection consists of digitized images of all scores in the U of C Library's collection.
5,000 pages of original historical material documenting the land, peoples, exploration, and transformation of the trans-Appalachian West from the mid-eighteenth to the early nineteenth century. The collection is drawn from the holdings of the University of Chicago Library and the Filson Historical Society of Louisville, Kentucky. Among the sources included are books, periodicals, newspapers, pamphlets, scientific publications, broadsides, letters, journals, legal documents, ledgers and other financial records, maps, physical artifacts, and pictorial images.