Skip to main content

History of Science

This guide lists some starting points for doing research in the history of science, including article databases, reference works like encyclopedias and dictionaries, and web resources for biographical information on scientists

Librarian Tips and Tricks

  • To verify an old journal citation, try searching by author and year using cited reference searching feature in Web of Knowledge
  • Dissertation Abstracts. Capitalize on the efforts of other researchers. Your topic may have already have been covered but never published commercially. Look for citations published in dissertations since 1861. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format.

Article Databases

Selected Journals

Browse a few selected titles from the University of Chicago Library collections in social, historical and philosophical studies of scienceand medicine for a sense of themes and topics in current research and teaching in this area.  For more comprehensive approach to researching the journal literature, use Article Databases

Subject Specialist

Andrea Twiss-Brooks

Ask a Science Librarian

Contact:
Director of Research and Teaching Support
Regenstein Library Room 181
773-702-8777

Find It!

When searching databases, the Find It button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders to the ILL Office for items that the Library does not own.

Off-campus Access

Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.

If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. Use the ProxyIt bookmarklet in these situations. There's more information on our guide to off-campus access