United Nations History/Background
Poster created during the Second World War (1943), according to the Declaration of the United Nations of 1942. The Poster, created by United States Office of War Information and made by United States Government Printing Office. The poster features the flags of those countries or governments-in-exile that pledged to support the Allied effort above the on-going war machine that the United Nations represented. This poster is important because it represents the origins of the United Nations as a wartime alliance (before it was a concrete organization). As a work of Office of War Information, a branch of the United States Federal Government, this work is in public domain.
United Nations Publications
- Basic facts about the United Nations
- UN ChronicleUnited Nations. Dept. of Public Information.; United Nations. Office of Public Information.
The UN Chronicle is not an official record. - United Nations Handbook
League of Nations History/Background
Photo of the members of the commission of the League of Nations created by the Plenary Session of the Preliminary Peace Conference, Paris, France 1919
Discovery Tools for Locating League of Nations Documents
- League of Nations Documents, 1919-1946 : a descriptive guide and key to the microfilm collection- find the descriptive guide in library
- The Center for Research Libraries owns the microfilm collection; reels may be borrowed via ILL - A Repertoire of League Serial Documents, 1919-1947/ Repertoire des Séries de Documents de la Société des Nations 1919-1947
Encyclopedias
- A Concise Encyclopedia of the United Nations
- Encyclopedia of the United Nations
- Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
- Great Debates at the United Nations : an encyclopedia of fifty key issues 1945-2000
Miscellaneous
- A Global Agenda : issues before the ... General Assembly of the United Nations : an annual publication of the United Nations Association of the United States of America
- United States Participation in the United Nations : report by the Secretary of State to the Congress for the year ...find older editions by searching in the Library Catalog
League of Nations Documents
- League of Nations Statistical and Disarmament DocumentsNorthwestern University Library's digital collection "League of Nations Statistical and Disarmament Documents" contains the full text of 260 League of Nations documents.
- League of Nations Treatiesvia United Nations Treaty Collection (UNTC) web site.
- Monthly Summary of the League of Nations
- Statistical Yearbook of the League of Nations1926 - 1942-44
Need Help?
Subject Specialist
Lyonette Louis-Jacques
Contact Info:
Foreign and International Law
Librarian and Lecturer in Law
D'Angelo Law Library
University of Chicago Law School
Room 207
773-702-9612
Send Email