Skip to main content

United States (Federal) Government Documents

Compilation of Presidential Documents

Public Papers of the President

Other Presidential Materials

About Compilation of Presidential Documents

The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection is composed of the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents and its predecessor, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.   It is published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) under the authority of the Federal Register Act, (44 U.S.C.  Ch. 15; 1 CFR part 10).  

 Documents appearing in the Compilation of Presidential Documents collection are edited for accuracy and annotated with additional information to provide an authoritative record of the Presidency.  It includes such material as:  

  • Proclamations

  • Executive orders

  • Speeches

  • Press conferences

  • Communications to Congress and Federal agencies

  • Statements regarding bill signings and vetoes

  • Appointments, nominations

  • Reorganization plans

  • Resignations

  • Retirements

  • Acts approved by the President

  • Nominations submitted to the Senate

  • White House announcements

  • Press releases

Source: FDsys

About Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States

The Public Papers of the Presidents contain most of the President's public messages, statements, speeches, and news conference remarks. Documents such as Proclamations, Executive Orders, and similar documents that are published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations, as required by law, are usually not included for the presidencies of Herbert Hoover through Gerald Ford (1929-1977), but are included beginning with the administration of Jimmy Carter (1977). The documents within the Public Papers are arranged in chronological order. The President delivered the remarks or addresses from Washington, D. C., unless otherwise indicated. The White House in Washington issued statements, messages, and letters unless noted otherwise. (Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States. Washington, D.C.: United States Government Printing Office, various dates.

Volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Clinton, George W. Bush, and Obama are included in the Public Papers series. NOTE: The papers of President Franklin Roosevelt were published privately before the commencement of the official Public Papers series and they are available in HeinOnline United States Presidential Library. 

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian's picture
Ask a Librarian
Subjects:Help Guides

Business & Economics Librarian for Instruction & Outreach

Emily Treptow's picture
Emily Treptow
Regenstein Library Room 100B
Subjects:Business, Economics