Skip to main content

Hebrew Bible Resources

A guide to help those writing papers or researching in the area of Hebrew Bible

Quick Links

Getting Started

Consult the resources listed below to get started researching a course paper or thesis. There are many more resources listed elsewhere in this Resource Guide. Please contact Anne Knafl, the Subject Specialist featured in the right-hand column, to arrange for a research consultation.

Tip: As you read, always check the notes and bibliography to find publications related to your topic.

Learn More about a Topic

Consult a reference source, such as a Companion, Handbook or Encyclopedia, to gain broad knowledge about a topic and the major scholarly trends surrounding it.

Finding Books

The University of Chicago Library has a very strong collection of scholarly books. Try a basic keyword search on your topic to find books. Too many results? Try Advanced Search and search in Subject or Title.

Tip: Sort by "Date Descending" to see the most recent publications

Finding Articles

Individual journal articles are not indexed in the Library catalog, only the journal title. To find journal articles on your topic you will need to consult a separate database.

Tip: JSTOR is great for searching across multiple disciplines, but has limited content for individual areas. To find a broad range of articles within a specific area you will need to consult a subject specific database.

Building Your Bibliography

Citation Management (Zotero, Endnote)

Use a citation management tool, such as Zotero or Endnote, to collect, organize and annotate your references and to create notes and bibliographies.

Tip: Currently, Zotero is the only management tool that supports Hebrew unicode fonts.

Subject Specialist

Anne Knafl's picture
Anne Knafl
Contact:
Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462
773-702-8442

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the Find It button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request.  It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.