Skip to main content

Hebrew Bible Resources

A guide to help those writing papers or researching in the area of Hebrew Bible

Manuscripts

The Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) houses many manuscripts that may be of interest to researchers in religious studies.

Perhaps the most famous of these manuscript collections is the Edgar J. Goodspeed Manuscript Collection, which comprises 68 early Greek, Syriac, Ethiopic, Armenian, Arabic, and Latin manuscripts ranging in date from the 5th to the 19th centuries. The University of Chicago Library has digitized many of these manuscripts, creating a unique "digital collection."

SCRC also has numerous late medieval and Renaissance secular and religious texts. Search the codex manuscript catalog for examples.

Archives & Faculty Papers

The Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) houses many archival collections that may be of interest to researchers in religious studies.

The University Archives was established as part of the University of Chicago Library in 1946. Included in the Archives are official records and publications; minutes of the Board of Trustees and other boards and statutory bodies; records of administrative units including academic divisions, professional schools, departments, offices, programs, and interdisciplinary committees; papers of faculty members, trustees, administrators, students, and alumni; serial publications; photographs; video and film; sound recordings; and memorabilia.

Among the collections of faculty papers are Gerald C. Brauer, Ernest D. Burton, Clifford Geertz, Edgar J. Goodspeed, William Rainey Harper, Martin E. Marty,  Shailer Mathews, and Joachim Wach. Search the finding aid database or Library Catalog for additional collections.

The Archives also holds the records of a number of related institutions and organizations. Among these are the original or Old University of Chicago of 1857-1886, the Baptist Theological Union, the Baptist Union Theological Seminary, and the American Institute of Sacred Literature.

Subject Specialist

Anne Knafl's picture
Anne Knafl
Contact:
Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462
773-702-8442