Library Guides: Religion: Articles & Journals

How do I Find Journal Articles?

There are several different approaches to finding journal articles, depending on your starting point.

1. If you are looking for a known item (you know the author, article title, journal title, date, volume, etc.):

Try Articles Plus. For instance, search for the title of the journal and click the "Find It" button to get access.
Search the Library Catalog for the journal title and use the "Find It" button

2. If you are exploring a topic, use an article index such as ATLA Religion Database. This approach is more comprehensive than going to JSTOR.

3. If you are looking for a particular journal online, search the Library's e-journal index.

Indexes for Finding Articles In Religious Studies

ATLA Religion with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) includes more than 580+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials (Atlas), and 200+ additional full-text titles.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
IBZ: International Bibliography of Periodical Literature This link opens in a new window
An international and interdisciplinary bibliography of academic periodical literature mainly from the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts. Indexes from about 11,500 journals covering the years 1983 to the present.
Index Islamicus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world (main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere). Includes records for articles from over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
Index Theologicus This link opens in a new window
Index to journals and Festschriften in theology and religious studies acquired by Tübingen University Library. More international in scope than ATLA Religion Database.
Index of journal articles, Festschriften, and congress publications in the fields of theology and religion based on the holdings of the Tbingen University Library with support from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). Indexes approximately 2000 currently published periodicals, three fourths of which come from countries other than Germany.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. The database has become an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 38,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 13,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Part of Nineteenth Century Index. Indexes the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1665 to 1995, including many European titles. Includes links to some full-text articles. Dates of full-text coverage vary by title.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts covering scholarly research in the field of philosophy. Covers all major articles from anthologies and books in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French as well as 480 journals from 38 countries.
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Lists a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English,

Citation Linking

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
With citation linking. Uncheck the Science Index.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Online Journal Collections

Here are some collections of online journals, but if you're exploring a topic, I suggest using a journal article index such as ATLA Religion Database.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are now over 8000 journals in the directory.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of over 100 scholarly journals published by university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. Indicates whether periodicals are online. Includes information about which databases index the content.

Browsing Journals

Browzine This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is tool for browsing, reading and monitoring scholarly journals.

Current Religious Studies journals in Browzine
Browse current issues of some of the most important scholarly journals in Religious Studies

Subject Specialist

Anne Knafl

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462

773-702-8442

Subjects: Humanities, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion

Religion