Largest and most comprehensive collection of high- resolution images. The University's teaching collection can no longer be searched simultaneously in ARTstor; use LUNA below.
Image database covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Select "Search and Browse for Images" to begin using the database.
Arkyves provides access to more than 500,000 images and textual entries from libraries and museums in many countries, among them the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, the Netherlands Institute for Art History (RKD) and the Herzog August Bibliothek in Wolfenbüttel. More collections will follow in the near future.
From the Brill website
High resolution images of works of art in North American museum collections.
A database of more than 50,000 images of works of art contributed by museums in the United States, Canada and Great Britain. The scope of the database covers prehistory to the present, with works from Europe, the Americas, Asia and Africa. Included are paintings, sculptures, drawings, textiles, photographs, prints, costumes and jewelry, works of decorative art, books and manuscripts.
CAMIO is the replacement for AMICO, which was phased out in July, 2005
Core images for teaching and studying the history of Western Art.
Saskia Art History Images is a collection of digital art images with a special emphasis on the core images required for teaching the history of Western Art. Images correspond to the following art books: Gardner's Art Through the Ages (10th ed.), Stokstad's History of Art (revised ed.), and Hart's History of Italian Renaissance Art (4th ed.). The collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, as well as archaeological sites.
Fine art sold at auction, 1990s-present. Most records include descriptions and color images. Auction results with images for individual lots sold at major houses since 1990. Database includes paintings, sculpture, and works on paper. Records are searchable by either artist's name or auction house.
Part of Credo Reference, a composite of books and born-digital materials. The image database comprises a "large part" of the entire Bridgeman image collection. Image quality varies. The Bridgeman Art Library is a fee-based collection of stock and other fine art with images from over eight thousand collections and twenty nine thousand artists. Bridgeman represents museums, galleries and artists throughout the world by providing a central source of fine art for image users.
The Bridgeman Art Library
is the world's leading source of fine art with images from over eight thousand collections and twenty nine thousand artists. We represent museums, galleries and artists throughout the world by providing a central source of fine art for image users.
Description taken from Bridgeman Art Library site.
The Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago is among the leaders in the recovery of the history, languages, and cultures of the ancient Near East. In the halcyon days of the 1930s, when universities and museums conducted expeditions on a scale now unheard of, Oriental Institute teams worked in nearly every country of the Near East. An integral part of each excavation was the expedition photographer, who was entrusted with capturing not only the routine of each day’s work but also the moments of discovery and exploration. These images recount some of these memorable moments, as the Oriental Institute sifted the sands of time. (From their Web site)
Built on four main pillars—Asian art, European art, modern art and design, and contemporary art—the collections include recognized masterworks as well as clusters of works that introduce important, though lesser known, areas of art history. Strengths across the collections include figurative art, works on paper, and small-scale sculpture, as well as materials that illuminate artists' working methods and contexts.