Legal Reference Sources

The main citation guide for legal materials is The Bluebook. The D'Angelo Law Library has several copies available in the Reserve Room and at the Reference Desk. The 20th edition was published in early 2015. A document highlighting the most noteworthy changes is posted below.

The Bluebook Online is available via individual subscriptions only, so unfortunately, the Library is not able to provide access to the online version.

• The University of Chicago Manual of Legal Citation (Maroon Book)
  XXKF245.U55 2010 Law Reference, Law Reserve. 
• The University of Chicago Law Review Style Sheet
  This style guide, used by the Law Review and Legal Forum, incorporates the Maroon Book and highlights imporant rules from the Chicago Manual of Style.
• ALWD Citation Manual: A Professional System of Citation - Published by the ALWS Association of Legal Writing Directors.
  XXKF245.​A45 2010 D'Angelo Law, Reference
• Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations, 3d ed.
  XXKF246.B46 1988 D'Angelo Law Reference - dictionary of US and foreign legal abbreviations.
• Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations, 4th ed.
  XXKF246.B460 1993 Law Reference - dictionary of Anglo-American legal abbreviations
• Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Citation, 6th ed.
  XXKF246.P73 2001D'Angelo Law Reference - includes a complete reprint of the Bluebook, 16th ed.
• Cardiff's Index to Legal Abbreviations - Searches of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. Indexed by journal title or citation. Offers alternate legal citations when available. A selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals, but some legislative publications and major textbooks are also included.
• Prince's Dictionary of Legal Citation. 8th ed.
  XXKF246.P732 2011 D'Angelo Law Reference
• TaxCite: A Federal Tax Citation and Reference manual.
  XXKF245.T390 1995 D'Angelo Law, Reference
• Uniform Citation Standards - From the ABA Legal Technology Resource Center
• Universal Citation Guide - From the Committee on Citation Formats, American Association of Law Libraries
  XXKF245.​U568 2014 D'Angelo Law, Reference
• Chicago Manual of Style. 16th ed.
  Z253.C54 D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks & Reserve

• Australian Guide to Legal Citation. 2d ed.
  XXKU48.A978 2002 D'Angelo Law, Reference
• Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation. 7th ed.
  XXKE259.C362 2010 D'Angelo Law, Reference
• How to Cite Legal Authorities (Great Britain)