Articles & Journals - Biological Sciences - Molecular & Cell Biology

Journals

E-Journals database This link opens in a new window
Find journals and magazines that are available online.

NIH Public Access Policy

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed Central preserves and maintains access to the electronic biomedical literature.

Article Databases

Find articles using the databases below. Additional databases can be found using the Database Finder.

Biomed Central Databases This link opens in a new window
A catalog of more than 1,100 sites covering a wide range of biomedical topics from Alzheimer disease to zebrafish anatomy. Some of the databases contain experimental data; others provide synopses of published information. Most of the databases are freely accessible.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic database for the life sciences. Areas of coverage include botany, zoology, ecology, microbiology, biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology, medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology.
bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science, agricultural science, and more.
Provides access to Chemical Abstracts references (1907-current), including searches by CAS Registry Number (RN), author, topic, molecular formula, and structure/substructure (compound or reaction). Structure/substructure searches retrieve results from the CASREACT reaction database and the CA Registry File compound database. Links to full-text of articles and patents are available.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is also a primary source of information from the international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Citation Information

Finding citations to a particular paper or author

Web of Science

Scopus

Finding citation measures for journals

Journal Citation Reports (information about information about Impact Factors)

SCImago Journal & Country Rank

Calculating an author's Hirsch index (h-index)

Web of Science (information about calculating an h-index using Web of Science)

Scopus (information about calculating an h-index using Scopus)

Using Google Scholar

Contact Information

Deb Werner
Biomedical Reference Librarian
Crerar Library Room 127
773-702-8552
Email Deb

Find It!

When searching various Library and online sources, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders for items that the Library does not own.

Off-campus Access

Access most Library databases, e-journals, and e-books from off-campus by authenticating with your CNetID and password.

If you are not asked for a CNetID, use ProxyIt! to prompt authentication.