Arkyves provides access to more than 500,000 images and textual entries from libraries and museums in many countries, among them the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, the Netherlands Institute for Art History (RKD) and the Herzog August Bibliothek in Wolfenbüttel. More collections will follow in the near future.
From the Brill website
The site, containing over 450,000 images, is dedicated to visual material useful for teaching and learning Art History and adjacent areas. The site began with intended coverage of the Mediterranean Basin and still remains strong in those areas. Michael Greenhalgh is the editor and the Australian National University serves the images.
Works in the public domain, distributed on a free-access, free-use basis. Emphasis on ancient, medieval, and the Renaissance in Europe. Created by Allan Kohl from the Minneapolis College of Art & Design, the site is hosted by the University of Michigan's Digital Library.
The Image Collections and Fieldwork Archives (ICFA) support scholarship in Byzantine Studies by preserving and providing access to images of art, architecture, and archaeology in a variety of media and other archival collections that document fieldwork and research projects at Byzantine sites and monuments. ICFA is also the repository for the Pre-Columbian Photographs and Fieldwork Archives and Garden and Landscape Photographs and Design Archives.
From their website
Popup window blocking must be disabled to use all of ARTstor's features.
Image database covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Select "Search and Browse for Images" to begin using the database.
The Bridgeman Art Library
is the world's leading source of fine art with images from over eight thousand collections and twenty nine thousand artists. We represent museums, galleries and artists throughout the world by providing a central source of fine art for image users.
Description taken from Bridgeman Art Library site.
A database of more than 50,000 images of works of art contributed by museums in the United States, Canada and Great Britain. The scope of the database covers prehistory to the present, with works from Europe, the Americas, Asia and Africa. Included are paintings, sculptures, drawings, textiles, photographs, prints, costumes and jewelry, works of decorative art, books and manuscripts.
CAMIO is the replacement for AMICO, which was phased out in July, 2005
Saskia Art History Images is a collection of digital art images with a special emphasis on the core images required for teaching the history of Western Art. Images correspond to the following art books: Gardner's Art Through the Ages (10th ed.), Stokstad's History of Art (revised ed.), and Hart's History of Italian Renaissance Art (4th ed.). The collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, as well as archaeological sites.
Built on four main pillars—Asian art, European art, modern art and design, and contemporary art—the collections include recognized masterworks as well as clusters of works that introduce important, though lesser known, areas of art history. Strengths across the collections include figurative art, works on paper, and small-scale sculpture, as well as materials that illuminate artists' working methods and contexts.