To subscribe send a blank email to firstname.lastname@example.org, and write (as subject and in first
line): subscribe agade
Jack M. Sasson, the Mary Jane Werthan Professor of Judaic and Biblical Studies at Vanderbilt University, has been collecting and distributing the Agade Mailing List for almost two decades, dating back to his position at The University of North Carolina, which still hosts the email distribution list. The Agade list forwards news and information of interest to scholars in biblical studies, Near Eastern studies, Late Antiquity, Judaica, Classics, archaeology, and even broad intellectual history. It is a valuable source of announcements, and these many guilds are in debt to Professor Sasson.
The Society of Biblical Literature has permission to collect these postings and to archive them. The Current Postings include announcements from the previous day. The Archive includes all prior announcements and will eventually date back to 2010. SBL does not supplement, eliminate, or otherwise emend the number or content of the announcements, and presents them in the order of their delivery.
From their website
ARCANE Project: Synchronizing Cultures and Civilizations of the Ancient Near East and the Eastern Mediterranean in the Third Millennium BC.
The ultimate goal of the ARCANE project is to produce a reliable relative and absolute chronology of the entire Near East based on the synchronization of regional chronologies for the third millennium BC.
L'objectif de ce premier outil élaboré dans le cadre du projet ARCHIBAB est de mettre à
disposition de tous la bibliographie relative aux publications de documents d'archives
paléo-babyloniens. Il ne s'agit pas d'une bibliographie exhaustive sur la période
paléo-babylonienne, portant sur tous les aspects (histoire politique, culture, réalités matérielles ou linguistiques…), mais d'un outil pratique pour quiconque cherche à accéder aux textes eux-mêmes. Dans la terminologie d'ARCHIBAB, un texte publié est un document dont le contenu est rendu intégralement accessible par au moins l'un des moyens suivants : une copie, une photographie ou une transcription intégrale (exception faite des adresses pour les lettres ou des dates pour les documents juridiques ou administratifs); ont donc été exclues du compte des "publications de textes" les traductions seules sans transcription, de même que les citations isolées d'une partie d'un texte.
From their website.
The aim of the bibliography is to collect and arrange systematically only those studies directly or mainly related to subjects of Semitic linguistics, namely, those centred on the study of languages and their phonological, morphological, syntactic and semantic constituents, from both the comparative perspective (close and distant relationship) and the immanent perspective (grammar and lexicon). Consequently, all other studies dealing with the history of the societies which use or used those languages and with everything that is built on them (socio-political history, literature, religion and ‘culture’ in general), remain excluded. This limitation may seem impossible or at the very least without justification and minimalist, in some way resorting to ‘formalism’, giving up the basic element, whose development a language has to perform, namely, the shaping of a universe of social representations, which generates a particular way of communication and creativity. One could say that it means abandoning the ‘context’ in which every linguistic formulation has its meaning, being at the same time its outcome.
From their Website.
"eTACT aims to be the definitive repository on the Web for translations of Akkadian materials. Through eTACT, scholars, students, and the general public gain convenient access to a wealth of information that otherwise can be difficult to discover. Visitors to the site can have confidence in the quality of the translations since they are prepared and edited by experts."
From their website
The Internet portal provides subject information across the entire spectrum of Classical Studies. A separate selection is offered for each of the following disciplines: Egyptology, Ancient History, Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Byzantine Studies, Classical Archaeology, Classical Philology, Medieval and Neo-Latin Philology and Pre- and Early History.
From their Web site.
he Travelers in the Middle East Archive (TIMEA) is a digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. TIMEA offers electronic texts such as travel guides, museum catalogs, and travel narratives, photographic and hand-drawn images of Egypt, and historical maps of Egypt and Cyprus.
From their website