Market research on consumer markets. Mintel focuses on the U.S. and U.K. but does produce reports on other European and Asian markets from time to time.
Optional registration allows you to save items to your account; you must use a University of Chicago email address when registering.
Market research from Euromonitor. Reports on consumer markets around the world. Use the browse reports option to browse by industry or country. We especially recommend the Consumer Lifestyles reports, which give detailed information on consumer demographics in over 70 countries. Passport also contains summary statistics on consumer products in the menu search
IBISWorld reports cover a broader range of industries.
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA), founded in 1972, publishes handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. With over 30,000 copies in print, RKMA ranks as one of the country's largest market research publishers. RKMA established itself as a leading market analyst and futurist firm in the early 1980s with its research on advanced computing. The forecasts of Richard Miller, founder and president of the firm, on the commercialization of computer graphics, real-time supply chain management, industrial automation, and other emerging technologies were amazingly accurate. RKMA first wrote about the Internet (then called Arpanet) in 1984.
Choose Industry Profiles or Market Research Reports.
Article database that includes trade publications, academic journals, industry profiles, country information and company profiles, which include SWOT analyses. Full text is often available.
Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
First Research produces brief industry overviews for 150 industries. These are primarily consumer segments but there are some manufacturing sectors as well. These reports are designed for prospective employees and don't have as much detail as other sources.
Features S & P's Industry Surveys, which provide macro-level analysis of 56 major industries. Also includes company profiles and financial data with analyst rankings of investment potential as well information about company executives.