A selected list of highlights from digitized modern manuscript collections. A full list can be found under the "With Digital Content" tab in the Finding Aids Database.
- Ivan Albright Medical drawings made direct from patients & in operating room in Base Hospital # 11 located at Nantes, France 1918-1919. Manuscript, Codex Ms 1560 Related resource from Art Institute: https://www.artic.edu/artworks/51540/medical-sketchbook
- Bakwin Soviet Posters Collection This collection contains nineteen Soviet political posters produced in the early 1930s, collected by the American physicians Dr. Harry Bakwin and Dr. Ruth Morris Bakwin during two trips to the Soviet Union.
- Butler-Gunsaulus Collection. Chiefly letters and manuscripts by notable American men such as John Adams, William Cullen Bryant, DeWitt Clinton, Stephen A. Douglas, Frederick Douglass, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Horace Greeley, Washington Irving, Andrew Jackson, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, William Henry Seward, George Washington and many more. Also contains a small number of manuscripts by Europeans, including Erasmus and the Marquis de Lafayette.
- Century of Progress International Exposition Publications Published informational and promotional material produced for the Century of Progress Exhibition, Chicago, Illinois, 1934. Includes guidebooks, pamphlets, and brochures distributed by exhibiting corporations and the national, state, and city concerns, as well as official publications from the Century of Progress Exhibition
- Chicago Committee of Fifteen Records. Twenty-six volumes were gathered for an investigation of Chicago crime, focusing on prostitution and the illegal sale of alcohol. Notes are from on-scene investigations, summaries of court records and newspaper clippings.
- Philip M. Klutznick: Community Builder, Jewish and Civic Leader, Diplomat. Photographs, letters, publications, and other archival materials documenting Philip M. Klutznick's multi-faceted life and career as a pioneering community developer, philanthropist, United Nations representative, U.S. Secretary of Commerce and leader of the American and international Jewish community.
- Middle Eastern Posters Collection. Posters produced by government offices and private organizations, primarily in Iran and Afghanistan.
- James E. O'Hara Papers. Lawyer and Republican Congressman, 1883-1887. Contains letters from family and constituents, photographs, a biographical sketch (1970) written by O'Hara's granddaughter, Vera Jean O'Hara Rivers, and memorabilia.
- Slavery and Indentured Servitude Collection. Documents pertaining to indentured servants (1766-1785). The remaining documents relate to slavery and include bills of sale, a memorandum describing the slave trade in Havana (1783), estate inventories, public notices, letters, deeds, a will, and indemnity bonds. Many of the documents are facsimiles.
- Ida B. Wells Papers. Teacher, journalist and anti-lynching activist. Paper contain correspondence, manuscript of Crusade for Justice: the Autobiography of Ida B. Wells, diaries, copies of articles and speeches by Wells, articles and accounts about Wells, newspapers clippings, and photographs. Also contains Alfreda M. Duster's (Wells' daughter) working copies of the autobiography which Duster edited. Correspondents include Frederick Douglass and Albion Tourgee. Includes photocopies of correspondence of Wells' husband Ferdinand Barnett and a scrapbook of newspapers articles written by him.