Skip to main content

Special Collections Research Center Digital Resources

Guide to digitial collections and resources in Special Collections

Welcome!

Welcome to Special Collections

 

The Special Collections Research Center is home to the University of Chicago Library's rare books, archives, and manuscript collections.  Special Collections is a vibrant, interactive place to conduct research, engage in classes using original sources, and view changing exhibitions.

Overview of Digital Collections

The Special Collections Research Center’s Digital Collections include unique materials from our collections digitized for teaching and research. Digitized materials from the University Archives include photographs and texts documenting the University’s of Chicago’s founding, history, and campus life. Digital manuscript collections include materials from Chicago and around the world, representing disciplines ranging from Chicago history, to arts, literature, medicine, and politics. The Library’s early manuscript and rare books collections are represented by hundreds of items ranging from the seventh to the nineteenth century, including early Christian manuscripts, musical scores, maps, and illustrations. Web exhibitions present materials from across SCRC’s collections with contextual information from University of Chicago faculty, students, and other scholars.

Ask a Librarian

Catherine Uecker's picture
Catherine Uecker

Contact Us

 

For help with your research:

Visit us on the first floor of Regenstein Library:

1100 East 57th Street, Chicago, IL 60637.

Phone: 773-702-8705

Contact Form

Class Request Form

 

Map of Our Location