Library Guides: Ancient Near East: Abbreviations

Quick Links

Catalogs

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
Institute for the Study of Ancient Cultures (OI) Research Archives Catalog This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, book reviews, monographs, and single volumes from sets. The catalog of the Institute for the Study of Ancient Cultures Research Archives at the University of Chicago contains entries for ancient Near East materials cataloged since 1987 with complete analytics (essays, articles and book reviews) for materials cataloged since 1990. The catalog also includes earlier materials, but not comprehensively.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.

Indexes

KeiBi: The Keilschriftbibliographie Online This link opens in a new window
The International Keilschriftbibliographie (KeiBi) was first published by the Pontifical Biblical Institute, Rome in the journal Orientalia in 1940 (Orientalia N.S. 9). It became an essential tool for the study, research, and teaching of Ancient Near Eastern Studies. The search for entries, though, proves quite cumbersome a weakness that all bibliographies issued over a substantial period of time share. To enable better access we hereby present the KeiBi online Database, where all issues already published can be searched simultaneously. Publisher's website
Online Egyptological Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature. It includes the volumes of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) for 1947 to 2001 with abstracts, combined with Bibliographie Altgypten (BA) for 1822 to 1946, the Aigyptos database with keywords, and many thousands of more recently added records. It provides coverage of Egyptological literature from 1822 to the present and is updated nearly every day.
Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For citation linking
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
For citation linking. Uncheck the Science Index.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Journals

Serial Guide: Classics, Ancient Near East, Medieval Latin & Byzantine Studies This link opens in a new window
UChicago E-Journals This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Journals Database provides access to the majority of the electronic journal titles available through the University of Chicago Library. Browse by journal title or conduct a title keyword or ISSN search.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.

Cross Disciplinary Aides

(Mathieu) Abréviations des periodiques et collections en usage à l'Institut français d'archéologie orientale
Z3015.M38 2003 RR4. A updated 2019 PDF edition is available online.
SBL Handbook of Style: for Ancient Near East, Biblical, and Early Christian Studies Print: PN147.S26 2014 RR4.
Serial Guide: Classics, Ancient Near East, Medieval Latin and Byzantine
(Wellington) Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines
PA99.W44 2003 RR4Cla and RR4
Reallexikon der Assyriologie und Vorderasiatischen Archäologie

Assyriology

Most recent volume of the Chicago Assyrian Dictionary (CAD) for most common abbreviations
PJ3525.C53 (table and shelf)
(Pritchard) Ancient Near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament (ANET)
BS1145.P931 (table)
(von Soden) Akkadisches Handwörterbuch (for older and for German versions)
PJ3540.G3S7 RR4
Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative (CDLI) List of standard abbreviations for Assyriology
Reallexikon der Assyriologie und Vorderasiatischen Archäologie

Egyptology

(Porter & Moss) Topographical Bibliography of Ancient Egyptian Hieroglyphic Texts, Reliefs, and Paintings
Z7064.P81 RR4
Lexikon der Ägyptologie for older [imprint date (1972-92)]
DT58.L67 RR4
Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) Click on abbreviation for pop up of journal title or browse list under "Periodicals.". Print volumes can be found at Z3651.I6 RR4
(Meyers) The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East
DS56.O90 1997 RR4 (good for sites)
Checklist of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca and Tablets

Hittitology

Chicago Hittite Dictionary
P945.C53 1980 RR4 (table and shelf)

Ugaritic & Hebrew

(Dietrich/Loretz/Sanmartin) Cuneiform Alphabetic Texts from Ugarit, Ras Ibn Hani and Other Places (CAT)
PJ3193.D54 1996 RR4
Ugarit-Forschungen (UF)
fPJ4150.U26 Building Use Only
(Brown, Driver, Briggs, Gesenius) Hebrew and English Lexicon (BDB)
PJ4833.B682 1979 RR4
Levantine Archaeology (Stern) The New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land
fDS111.A2N4880 1993 RR4
COWA (Ehrich) Chronologies in Old World Archaeology
DS54.5.C480 1992 RR4 v. 2 Bibliographies of each of the areas but only goes to 2000 B.C.E.

Subject Specialist

Catherine Mardikes

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Classics, the Ancient Near East, & General Humanities and interim Linguistics
Joseph Regenstein Library,
Room 471
Office: 773-702-2783
Cell: 773-820-2842

Subjects: Ancient Near East, Classics, General Humanities, Humanities, Linguistics, Medieval and Byzantine Studies

Ancient Near East

Quick Links

Catalogs

Indexes

Journals

Cross Disciplinary Aides

Assyriology

Egyptology

Hittitology

Ugaritic & Hebrew

Subject Specialist

More Abbreviations