Information about electronic resources available to alumni of the University of Chicago.
Last Updated: Sep 19, 2013
Alumni may access the University of Chicago Library's vast print and online collections by visiting the Library. For more information on Library access and privileges for University of Chicago Alumni, visit the Library's web site.
In addition, the Library provides alumni online access to thousands of journal articles, book chapters and other materials through Project MUSE and SAGE Journals Online.
The University of Chicago Alumni Association provides online access to thousands of publication archives through EBSCOhost. For more information on educational resources provided by the Alumni Association, visit the Alumni Association's web site.
- EBSCO Academic Search - Alumni Edition
Full-text access to more than 2,600 scholarly journals and indexing of thousands more. Access provided by the University of Chicago Alumni Association.
- EBSCO Business Source - Alumni Edition
Full-text access to more than 1,300 scholarly business journals and indexing of thousands more. Also includes country economic reports, company profiles, and backfiles of many journals. Access provided by the University of Chicago Alumni Association.
- Articles Plus - Alumni Edition
Brings together content from EBSCO databases, Project MUSE, SAGE Journals Online and other sources to facilitate discovery across a range of subject areas. Lists full-text articles available to alumni, as well as articles available for purchase or available in person in the University of Chicago Library. Access provided by the University of Chicago Alumni Association.
- Project MUSE
Full-text database of over 100 scholarly journals published by university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Access provided by the University of Chicago Library.
- SAGE Journals Online
Peer-reviewed journals in business, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and medicine published by SAGE Publications and participating societies. Dates of coverage and access to backfiles vary by journal. To verify availability of specific journals, search the eJournals list
or ask a librarian. Access provided by the University of Chicago Library.
A shared digital repository created by major research libraries. Features millions of digitized texts, some freely available in full-text, some limited to search-only.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Directory of more than 8,000 free, full-text, peer-reviewed journals from many disciplines.
- Google Scholar
Searches scholarly literature from web pages, publisher web sites, professional societies and some article databases. Also includes patents and legal opinions.
- JSTOR Early Journal Content
Available via the Internet Archive, a selection of journals published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere. Includes nearly 500,000 articles from more than 200 journals in the arts and humanities, economics and politics, and in mathematics and other sciences.
- You may purchase an individual subscription to JSTOR. See jpass.jstor.org
Index of scholarly research in the health sciences, some freely available online. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, PubMed contains over 14 million citations dating back to the mid-1960s.
The freely available version of the OCLC online catalog that contains over 43 million records. Search WorldCat.org to find resources in a library near you.