online databases: African Film
- African Media ProgramMichigan State’s database of African film and media includes a range of commercial and dramatic films as well as animation, educational, and other genres. Many records include film reviews and distribution information.
- AfricineThe African Federation of Film Critics (FACC) website includes African film news and criticism, interviews with filmmakers, festival reports, and database of plot summaries, technical details, and distribution information for over 7800 films. In French, with some English translation.
- AfriculturesAn online journal of African art and culture with a searchable database of full-text articles about international (primarly African) films. In French, with some English translation.
- The Library of African Cinema: California NewsreelCalifornia Newsreel distributes African films on DVD and VHS; some transcripts, articles, and viewing guides are also available on their website.
- Les cinémas d'Afrique: l'encyclopédie du film africainThe global French-language television network TV5MONDE's database of feature-length and short African films. Includes brief summaries and some distribution information. In French.
- African Film LibraryProduction information, clips, synopses and trailers from classic and contemporary African films.
Nigerian cinema
The following are all commecial sites that offer African (primarily Nigerian) DVDs for purchase, rental, or online viewing.
African Film Festivals
- The Panafrican Film and Television Festival of Ouagadougou (FESPACO)
- African Diaspora Film Festival, New York
- African Film Festival, New York
- International Panafrican Film Festival, Cannes
- The Pan African Film and Arts Festival, Los Angeles
- Vues d'Afrique Festival Panafrica International, Montreal
- Zanzibar International Film Festival
Discussion groups and news forums
- H-AfrLitCineAn African cinema and literature discussion list affiliated with Michigan State University; includes some reviews.
Subject Specialist |
Contact Info Bibliographer for Art and Cinema Bibliographer for History Regenstein Library Room 463 773-702-5193 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
