Skip to main content

United States (Federal) Government Documents

Today in History

Uncataloged United States Federal Government Documents

Not all United States Federal Government documents appear in the University of Chicago Library's catalog.  Check here for a list of our uncataloged materials.  If you would like to access any of these materials, please contact Emily Treptow.

General Interest Starting Points

Many government organizations and universities have created guides and databases to exploring, using, and citing government sources. This guide will direct you to the most pertinent and comprehensive collections available online and in print. Below is a list of general resources on government documents and the institutions that produce them.

  • GovInfo: This is the central source for official U.S. government docs maintained by the Government Publishing Office.
  • U.S. Government and Military Document Database: Hosted by EBSCO, Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
  • Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsCovers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). 1976-Present.
  • Homeland Security Digital LibraryCoverage from wide range of sources, including NGOs, IGOs, government agencies, and Congress. Very wide coverage for both domestic and foreign policy issues.
  • Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS)Provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond. Page images are digitized; full text of documents can be searched.

Business & Economics Librarian for Instruction & Outreach

Emily Treptow's picture
Emily Treptow
Contact:
Regenstein Library Room 100B
773.834.3415

Federal Depository Library

Federal Depository Logo

The University of Chicago Library has participated in the depository program since 1897 but has retrospective government documents dating back to colonial times.

Access information for members of the public. 

Government Information Online

Government Information Online (GIO): Ask a Librarian