This is the "Newspapers on Microfilm" page of the "How do I find newspapers?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How do I find newspapers?   Tags: chicago, news, newspapers  

A guide to locating newspapers for your research.
Last Updated: Oct 13, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/newspapers Print Guide RSS Updates

Newspapers on Microfilm Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Using Newspapers on Microfilm

MicrofilmFinding Newspapers on Microfilm
Most of the Library's historical newspapers are avilable on microfilm and are housed in the Microforms Collection on the 3rd Floor of Regenstein Library. To locate specific newspapers on microfilm in our collection, search the Library Catalog.

Locating Specific Articles
With the exception of some major dailies, few newspapers available on microfilm are indexed.  Without indexing, you may need to scan newspapers by date to find a specific article.  Check the Library Catalog to see if a specific newspaper index is available at the Library. 

If you are looking for information about a specific event, we recommend searching one of our full-text newspaper databases for coverage.  Once you are able to identify a range of dates for the event, which will help you identify specific reels of micoriflm to review.

Microfilm Equipment
Microfilm readers that both print and scan are available in the Microforms Collection.  Our microfilm reader/printers use the same payment system as our copy/print/scan stations.

Image from University of Chicago Photographic Archive, apf2-03320, Special Collections Research Center, University of Chicago Library.

Finding Newspapers at Other Libraries

If you do not find the newspaper that you need in our collection, you may request what you need via Interlibrary Loan service. While some major research libraries will loan reels of newspapers, please be aware that many smaller libraries will only be able to copy specific articles (requiring a citation).

Below are some sources for locating newspapers on microfilm at other libraries.

  • Center for Research Libraries
    Recommended. CRL has an extremely strong newspaper collection (foreign, domestic, and specialized) and unlike many libraries, will lend multiple reels of microfilm via interlibrary loan services. To search, click on the "newspapers" tab in the catalog.
  • WorldCat
    Search the WorldCat database to locate newspapers held by other libraries. For best results, use "Advanced Search", limiting your search to "Serial".
  • ICON
    The International Coalition on Newspapers seeks to increase access to international newspaper collections. Search the ICON catalog to identify international newspapers held at libraries or explore digital collections.
  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present  
      
    From the Library of Congress, this directory helps you identify newspapers published in the United States since 1690.
  • United States Newspaper Program
    The USNP is a cooperative national effort to locate, catalog, and preserve newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
  • Library of Congress - Newspapers
    A guide to the newspaper collections at the Library of Congress.
  • Illinois Newspaper Project Database
    Search newspaper holdings at libraries around Illinois, compiled by the Illinois Newspaper Project. Includes some holdings for Chicago newspaper.
  • University of Minnesota: Immigration History Research Center
    The IHRC houses one of the largest immigrant newspaper and periodical collections in the United States.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Ask a Librarian
Contact Info
Phone: 773-702-4685
Email
Visit Us
Chat:
 

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip