Find It!
Do you want to know if a particular article is available online?
Click on ![]()
If an item is available online, Find It! will connect you with our full-text subscription. Or, if the full-text is not available, use Find It! to search the Library Catalog for the print version of the journal.
Select Biographical Sources
Below are selected reference sources for biographical information. There are other biographical reference sources only available in print. Search Lens by entering your keywords and adding "encyclopedias" or "dictionaries". Or Ask a Librarian for help.
- Oxford Reference Online
- Credo Reference
- The Palgrave Macmillan dictionary of women's biography.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- World Biographical Information System (WBIS)
- An Annotated index of medieval women.
- Extraordinary women of the Medieval and Renaissance world : a biographical dictionary
- The Continuum dictionary of women's biography.
- A historical dictionary of British women.
Finding Books
- Lens SearchFind find books, journals, and other materials at the University of Chicago Library.
- Library CatalogA traditional catalog interface for searching the University of Chicago Library's collections.
- WorldCatSearch the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. Click on Find It! for interlibrary loan requests.
Finding Articles
For most of these databases, click on the "Find It!" icon for full-text.
- Historical Abstracts Includes articles, essays, dissertations relating to history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages from 1955 to the present.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceIndexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books.
- ViVa: A Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals Database contains more than 6,000 articles published in English, French, German, Dutch, Danish, Norwegian, and Swedish are selected from 140 European, American, and Indian journals.
- ABSEES- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European StudiesProvides citations for articles on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada from 1990 to the present.
- JSTORA database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
- Victorian Database OnlineSearch over 100,000 records listing books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to 1999 on every field of nineteenth-century British studies.
- Research Starting PointsA list of recommended article databases by field.
Ask A Librarian |
Contact Info Librarian for College Instruction and Outreach Regenstein Library, Reference, 1st Floor 773-702-4484 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Chat: |


Loading...
