Library Guides: HIST 28809: North American Borderlands: Newspapers

Quick Links

News Databases

Find full-text newspaper articles (mid-1990s-present).

ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from recent years from over 2500 news sources worldwide. Includes the Chicago Tribune 1985- present, Washington Post 1987 -, the Times (London) 1992- and the New York Times 1980- present
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.
Eureka.cc This link opens in a new window
Canadian news database with extensive coverage of newspapers with from around the world in French, English, Spanish, German, etc. Especially strong in content from Canada, the U.S., and Europe. Includes pdf versions of many newspapers. Excellent local and regional content.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic
A full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, news wires, news transcripts, business, and legal information. Dates of coverage vary by title.

Major U.S. Newspapers (19th-20th Centuries)

Full-text editions of major U.S. newspapers.

Harper's Weekly This link opens in a new window
(1857-1889) Full-text access to Harper's Weekly, 19th-century a national weekly newspaper.
Leading American source for news and opinion during the middle years of the 19th century. From Finding Aids, select a Topic to see lists of subjects.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-2014) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue, 1849-2011.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) This link opens in a new window
(1865-1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-2010) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Wall Street Journal beginning with the first issue in 1889 and continuing through 1992. Articles can be searched by keyword and issues can be browsed by date. Includes advertisements and full market information, including stock and bond prices, trading volume and index changes.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2005) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1877 through 1993.

Best Bets

Other News Guides

How do I find newspapers?
by Ask a Librarian Updated Apr 3, 2024 4732 views this year
Latin American and Caribbean Studies
by David Woken Updated Apr 15, 2024 645 views this year

Databases of Historical U.S. Newspapers

Use the following databases and websites for articles from historical U.S. newspapers. Most of these databases let you search newspapers from specific regions and eras, but also let you limit to specific titles.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 through 1922, with extensive coverage of newspapers published in the colonial period to 1820.
Provides full text of issues from hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 and 1922, with near exhaustive coverage for newspapers that began publication before 1820.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search U.S. newspapers from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find lists of newspapers published between 1690-present. Limit by era, region, or languages.
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
ICON Newspaper Digitization Projects This link opens in a new window
The International Coalition on Newspapers includes links to collections of U.S. newspapers that have been digitized.
The International Coalition on Newspapers includes links to collections of US & international newspapers that have been digitized.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971 This link opens in a new window
130 searchable newspapers published representing a wide variety of U.S. immigrant communities and cultural groups.
More than 130 searchable newspapers published by members of many of the most influential American ethnic groups in 25 U.S. state
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Includes a broad collection of African American newspapers published around the country, starting with the first African American paper Freedom's Journal through the 20th century.
Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States--those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.--Catalog Record